For those of you keeping track at home

The opening match of the 2014 FIFA World Cup is 450 days away.

At this time in the last World Cup cycle, we already had a rough idea of when we would be in South Africa and what matches we would request tickets for. We knew the results of the first round of ticket request by the end of April, 2009.

FIFA isn’t keeping the same timeline for this World Cup; it appears that we won’t be requesting tickets until the fall. Which is all well and good — longer to keep our money out of the greedy hands of FIFA — except that it puts a slight crimp in the buy-our-plane-tickets-350ish-days-out strategy.

Also complicating the ideal scenario for purchasing our plane tickets a year in advance is my complete inability to decide where in Brazil we should go. Brazil is a big country. We aren’t going to have the luxury photo(2)of choosing a home base with several stadia within a few hours of travel. Do we move around a little more, taking a flight or two between host cities? Do we just choose the best location and stay there? That’s all up in the air.

But speaking of plane tickets: have I mentioned that a certain charming little sister bought a certain undeserving big sister a rather generous Christmas gift in the form of a plane ticket to Brazil? Why, yes, I did win the sibling lottery.

8 responses to “For those of you keeping track at home

  1. It’s “dejavu all over” again huh!!!!!
    I’m sitting at the same computer, at the same job, and having the same adreniline rush whenever thoughts turn to planning my trip to Brasil and 2014!!!!!
    Glad I have others to pass along the time together!. Kind of sad the ticket purchasing was pushed back by FIFA.
    Also a little nervous about the Yanks and Ticos game tomorrow.

  2. Glad I found this blog. I AM GOING to WC2014! Like you, I’m wondering where to stay and how to move about. I’m thinking though of holing up in one northern city and praying to get tickets to any game there. Yes, clearly first timer here… 🙂

  3. I’m glad I found your blog. I’m in the process of planning my first World Cup trip with my husband and adult daughter. Your blog is fun to read and informative. I’m working backwards in planning this trip. First I’ve secured a great place to stay in Rio, next I’ll buy plane tickets as soon as scheduled flights become available, then I will hopefully be able to purchase tickets for 2-3 games in Rio. We’re not planning to travel to another city for games, but I’ve not ruled this out. Let me know what you find out about obtaining Visas for Brazil. Since my daughter currently lives in Atlanta while we are in northern California, I want to coordinate our applications for Visas and get them well in advance of June 2014.

    By the way, I’m a Michigan State alumna. I attended MSU when you weren’t even a tinkle in your father’s eye.

  4. Hi,
    I am planning my first world cup trip and I found your blog via tripadvisor. It seems like you had an awesome time in South Africa.
    I have 2 questions and hopefully you can help me:

    – When you submitted the request for the 2010 tickets, did you both have to enter the passport details for each of you?
    I am planning to go with a friend and we both want to submit a ticket request to improve our chances but I am not sure if we should use other names in order not to have the request duplicated and cancelled.

    – Were you allow to enter the stadiums with a small bag/backpack?

    Thank you and congratulations

  5. In 2010, passport information was only required for the person who was submitting the ticket request. The other ticket was just designated as the guest. We brought in a purse and a camera case to every game and had no problems. I can’t recall if there was a certain size restriction, but I do suspect that there were guidelines.

  6. Hi Alyson,
    Thank you so much for all the detailed information!!!!!
    Hopefully the process to purchase tickets does not change and only the passport of the requester is required when submitting the tickets request for 2014.
    Cant wait for the process to start!
    Karla

  7. So glad to have found your blog. The information is super helpful! I am also planning to go to Brazil with a couple buddies as well, but have no idea where to start and how to start (first-timers!).

    You are absolutely right that Brazil is so big its really hard to decide where to stay (12 cities, whaaat?). Flying between cities would be ideal, but wont be cheap I guess. Anyways, I am already picturing myself in Brazil watching and cheering with the fans. Cant wait!

  8. Yay for this blog! I’m going to be trying for team specific tickets for the US, and while I will be thrilled if I get them, it sounds like the planning involved in following a specific team is going to be a complete nightmare this time around. *adds blog to feedly*

Leave a Reply

