This Time For Africa: Music of the World Cup

We’ve been back home for more than a month (!) and:
a. there are still a few things from my suitcase that I haven’t quite managed to put away (shhhh! People think that I’m neat. Don’t tell.)
b. nothing brings me back to the World Cup as quickly as the music of the tournament.

There were a few official songs of the World Cup that were played on repeat for the duration of the tournament. We’d hear them at breakfast, on the radio when we were being shuttled around, at restaurants and, of course, at matches. And in our dreams.

There was R. Kelly’s Sign of a Victory, the official anthem of the 2010 World Cup. Apparently the rest of the world hasn’t caught on to R. Kelly’s, um, uncouth reputation. Whatever. After listening to it 1,937 times in South Africa, I associate it with a lot of good memories. This tune could inspire me to walk across hot coals.

Wavin’ Flag by K’naan technically wasn’t an official World Cup song. Coca Cola – one of the official World Cup sponsors and, thus, ubiquitious during the tournament – used it in its commercials. Seven weeks later and the “oh, oh oh oh oh” at the beginning of the song still plays over and over in my head. I’m starting to forget that there was a time when I didn’t wake up humming it.

I saved the best for last. Shakira’s Waka Waka (This Song For Africa). This is my jam. This is Lauren’s jam. This is anyone who was at the World Cup’s jam.

Alyson dancing: Waka Waka :: Pavlov’s dogs drooling: bells.

And need I remind you that this is the song that Lauren and the waitstaff were dancing to at Moyo? Seriously, you guys. Best song EVER.

I don’t know who the marketing genius was who came up with the idea to have official World Cup (or Olympic or whatever) songs, but it is a pretty damn clever concept. I won’t always have that keychain that I bought on a whim at the African Craft Market, but I’ll always be able to shake my ass to these tunes while conjuring up memories of a great trip.

One response to “This Time For Africa: Music of the World Cup

  1. Really great World Cup songs and videos! Though my favorite one is “Helele” bei Velile & Safri Duo. Fantastic dance tune song and and beautiful SA soccer scenes:

Leave a Reply

